This blog was created so I could track my reduction in all the unnecessary accumulated things in my life.  I have started on the clutter reduction in terms of items owned, and now it is time to address another area of accumulation in my life – weight.  We are about to head off on a family vacation for a week and I am thinking this might be a great time to start the couch to 5k program (c25k for short).  I actually was doing the program a couple years ago.  I got as far as running for 24 minutes.  I never made it to 30 minutes which is the goal of the plan (if you are doing it for time and not distance).  Because I followed it before I know that it is doable.  However, I really don’t enjoy running.  That’s a pretty big obstacle to overcome since its a running program.  This is ultimately why I did not complete the program the last time.  But I am the mother of 2 young children who need me so I need to put it in perspective and push through.  I need to be a healthier person for my children so I can be there for them for many years to come and to be a good role model.

Even though I was not successful in my first try I am giving it another because it fits into my life.  Its only 40 min. and can be done anywhere.  Also we have a nice treadmill in our basement so on the really hot days I can use that.  Running is one of the quickest ways to get into shape and it is also inexpensive.   I figure starting it during vacation is a good idea because I will have lots of available time.   So, hopefully when I return I will have completed the first week and will be midway through week 2.

This would be a great time to post a “before” picture, but there is not way that is ever going to happen.

