For me, the best dish is one that is delicious, healthy, fast and inexpensive. I am forever looking for recipes that fit this bill and I have found one for my first recipe post – Chicken Tortilla soup. This is super fast to make and I generally have the ingredients on hand. The best part is that my whole family (including a 1 yr old and a 5 yr old) enjoys it.

INGREDIENTS

Soup:

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 1 lb chicken cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 14 oz. can chicken broth
  • 1 15 oz. can diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 small can chopped green chilies

Toppings:

  • Crushed baked tortilla chips
  • Low fat shredded mozarella cheese
  • Chopped cilantro

DIRECTIONS

In a dutch oven, or any deep sided pot/pan add olive oil and garlic. Cook for 1 minute. Next add chicken, onion and cumin. Cook until onion is tender and chicken is no longer pink (about 5 min). Add water, chicken broth, diced tomatoes and diced green chilies. Bring to boil then reduce heat and simmer for 10 min. Ladle into bowls and top with crushed tortillas, cheese and chopped cilantro.

Enjoy!

